SPECIAL SESSION Varietal Identification Committee Meeting

August 29, 2022	Chairman: Dr. T R Sharma, DDG (CS)
	Member Secretary: Dr. GP Singh, Director, IIWBR
	Venue: Vice Chancellor Board Room, RVSKVV, Gwalior

The meeting of Varietal Identification Committee of Wheat & Barley was held on 29 August 2022 during 61st AGM of All India Coordinated Research Project (AICRP) on Wheat & Barley under the Chairmanship of Dr. T R Sharma, DDG (CS). The following members participated in the meeting:

- 1. Dr. T R Sharma, DDG (CS), ICAR, Krishi Bhavan, New Delhi (Chairman)
- 2. Dr. D K Yadav, ADG (Seed), ICAR, Krishi Bhawan New Delhi
- 3. Dr. R K Singh, ADG (CC & FFC), ICAR, Krishi Bhawan New Delhi
- 4. Dr. S K Singh, Additional Director, Agriculture, UP
- 5. Dr. R K Dadhich, RM, NSC Bhopal
- 6. Dr. Sanjay Kumar, Director, ICAR-IISS, Mau Nath Bhanjan
- 7. Dr. Ravish Chatrath, Emeritus Scientist, Karnal
- 8. Dr. Mohinder Prashar, MAHYCO, R&D, Jalna (Pvt. Representative)
- 9. Dr. S C Mishra, Ex Head, Plant Genetics Division, ARI, Pune
- 10. Dr. S K Sharma, Director Research, RVSKVV, Gwalior
- 11. Dr. G P Singh, Director, ICAR-IIWBR, Karnal (Member Secretary)

The committee considered all 27, wheat varietal proposals submitted for identification and area extension and after detailed deliberations, gave the following recommendations unanimously, as indicated against each proposal:

SN	Name of	Production	Recommendations
	Variety	conditions	
North	ern Hills Zone	e (NHZ): Himach	nal Pradesh, Jammu & Kashmir, Uttarakhand, Manipur and
Megh			
1	VL 2041	RF-TS	The variety was identified based on its superior grain quality and suitability for biscuit making.
Nort	h Western Pla	ins Zone (NWP	Z): Punjab, Haryana, Delhi, Rajasthan (excluding Kota and
Udai	pur division), V	Western Uttar Pra	desh (except Jhansi division), Jammu and Kathua district of
Jamr	nu & Kashmir	, Paonta Valley	and Una district of Himachal Pradesh and Tarai region of
Uttaı	akhand.		
2.	PBW 826	IR-TS	The variety was identified based on its superior yield and disease resistance.
3.	HD 3369	RI-TS	All the three genotypes were considered together and were identified based on their superiority in yield. The genotypes have shown resistance to rusts and also had
4.	HI 1653	RI-TS	
5.	HI 1654	RI-TS	superior grain quality.
Nort	h Eastern Plai	ns Zone (NEPZ)	Eastern UP, Bihar, Jharkhand, Orissa, West Bengal,
Assa	m and plains of	NE States.	
6.	PBW 826	IR-TS	The variety was identified based on its superior yield and disease resistance.
7.	DBW 316	IR-LS	All the three proposals were considered together. DBW 316 was identified based on its superior quality.
8.	PBW 833	IR-LS	 PBW 833 was identified based on its superior yield and disease resistance. PBW 835 was not identified due to its low yield as compared to the check varieties.
9.	PBW 835	IR-LS	

Cent	Central Zone (CZ): Madhya Pradesh, Gujarat, Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh states.					
10.	HI 1650	IR-TS	Both the genotypes were considered together and were identified based on their yield gains and superior grain quality.			
11.	MACS 6768	IR-TS				
12.	HI 8830(d)	RI-TS	Both the durum wheat proposals were identified based on			
13.	DDW 55(d)	RI-TS	their yield advantage and resistance to black & brown rusts.			
14.	CG 1036	RI-TS	Both the bread wheat proposals were identified based on			
15.	HI 1655	RI-TS	-their yield advantage and superior grain quality.			
Penin	sular Zone (PZ): N	/aharashtra	, Karnataka and plains of Tamil Nadu			
16.	HI 8826(d)	IR-TS	Both the proposals were identified based on their yield superiority, disease resistance and grain quality.			
17.	MACS 4100(d)	IR-TS				
18.	DBW320	IR-LS	The proposal was not identified due to its low yield as compared to check varieties.			
	Jammu & Kashmir, Paonta Valley and Una district of Himachal Pradesh and Tarai region of Uttarakhand.					
	DBW 370	HF-ES	All the four genotypes were considered together and based on			
20.	DBW 371	HF-ES	yield superiority and high yield potential all were identified .			
21.	DBW 372	HF-ES				
22.	PBW 872	HF-ES				
Centr	al Zone (CZ): Mad	lhya Prades	h, Gujarat, Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh states.			
23.	DBW 372	HF-ES	The genotype was not identified due to its low yield levels as compared to the check varieties.			
			Z): Punjab, Haryana, Delhi, Rajasthan (excluding Kota and			
-			desh (except Jhansi division), Jammu and Kathua district of			
Jammi Uttara		a Valley an	d Una district of Himachal Pradesh and Tarai region of			
24.	HD 3406	IR-TS	The MABB derived line was superior in yield to its recurrent			
			parent. Also resistant to rusts and hence identified.			
	h Eastern Plains Z and plains of NE S		Z): Eastern UP, Bihar, Jharkhand, Orissa, West Bengal,			
25.	HD 3411	IR-TS	The MABB derived line was superior in yield to its			
			recurrent parent and hence was identified.			
Centr	al Zone (CZ): Mad	lhya Prades	h, Gujarat, Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh states.			
26.	HD 3407	IR-LS	The MABB derived line was superior in yield to its recurrent parent. Also resistant to rusts and hence identified			
Proposals for Area Extension						
27.	DBW 303	CZ HF-ES	The variety was recommended for area extension in MP, Gujarat, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh states.			
L			Sujaran, Rajuonian, Siniamogarn Suito.			

At the end, the Member Secretary proposed a formal vote of thanks to the Chairman and members of the committee.

Gyanendra Pratap Singh

(Member Secretary)

Tilak Raj Sharma (Chairman)