SPECIAL SESSION Varietal Identification Committee Meeting

August 24, 2020	Chairman:	Dr. T R Sharma, DDG (CS)
	Member Secretary	: Dr. GP Singh, Director, IIWBR
	Mode: Online Virtual	

The meeting of Varietal Identification Committee of Wheat & Barley was held on 24 August 2020 during 59th AGM of All India Coordinated Research Project (AICRP) on Wheat & Barley under the Chairmanship of Dr. T R Sharma, DDG (CS).

The Varietal Identification Committee (VIC) of following members participated in the meeting:

- 1. Dr. T R Sharma, DDG (CS), ICAR, Krishi Bhavan, New Delhi (Chairman)
- 2. Dr. A K Singh, Director, ICAR IARI, New Delhi
- 3. Dr. B S Mahapatra, Prof., GBPUA&T, Pantnagar
- 4. Dr. Y P Singh, ADG (FFC), ICAR, Krishi Bhawan New Delhi
- 5. Shri Shravan Kumar, DDA (Seed) Department of Agriculture, Govt. of Uttar Pradesh
- 6. Dr. Arvind Nath Singh, Director, ICAR-IISS, Mau Nath Bhanjan
- 7. Dr. S C Mishra, Ex Head, Plant Genetics Division, ARI, Pune
- 8. Dr. Mohinder Prashar, MAHYCO, R&D, Jalna (Pvt. Representative)
- 9. Dr. G P Singh, Director, ICAR-IIWBR, Karnal (Member Secretary)

The committee considered all 12, wheat (11) and barley (1) varietal proposals submitted for identification and after detailed deliberations, gave the following recommendations unanimously, as indicated against each proposal:

SN	Name of	Production	Recommendations		
	Variety	conditions			
WHEAT					
North Western Plains Zone (NWPZ): Punjab, Haryana, Delhi, Rajasthan (excluding Kota and					
Udaipur division), Western Uttar Pradesh (except Jhansi division), Jammu and Kathua district of					
Jamm	u & Kashmir,	Paonta Valley a	nd Una district of Himachal Pradesh and Tarai region of		
Uttara	khand.				
1	HD 3298	IR-VLS	The variety was identified based on its high yield under		
			very late sown conditions and also for good chapatti &		
			bread quality.		
North	Eastern Plai	ns Zone (NEPZ)	East of UP, Bihar, Jharkhand, West Bengal (excluding		
hills), Orissa, Assam and plains of NE States.					
2	HD 3293	RI-TS	The genotype has shown resistance to wheat blast disease		
			and to APR reactions of brown rust and hence identified.		
Central Zone (CZ): Madhya Pradesh, Gujarat, Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh states.					
2	GG 1000				
3	CG 1029	IR-LS	Both the genotypes were considered together and were		
4	HI 1634	IR-LS	identified based on high level of resistance to rust and		
			yield superiority.		

Peninsular Zone (PZ): Maharashtra, Karnataka and plains of Tamil Nadu

5	DDW 48(d)	IR-TS	Both the durum wheat genotypes were considered
			together and after discussion it was decided to identify
6	DDW 49(d)	IR-TS	DDW 48 based on yield superiority and resistance to rust.
			DDW 49 was not identified as it has shown susceptible
			reaction to rust and there is no yield gain.
7	HI 1633	IR-LS	HI 1633 was identified on the basis of yield gain and
			superiority in rust resistance.
8	NIDW1149(d)	RI-TS	NIDW 1149 was identified on the basis yield superiority
			and rust resistance.
IR-ES Special – High Yield Potential Trial (NWPZ)			
9	DBW 187	ES-IR	All the three genotypes were considered together and
			based on their yield superiority, rust resistance, all three
10	DBW 303	ES-IR	varieties namely, DBW 303, WH 1270 & DBW 187 were
			identified.
11	WH 1270	ES-IR	
	•	•	•

BARLEY

North Western Plains Zone (NWPZ)				
12	DWRB 182	IR-TS	The genotype was identified based on its superior grain quality. It is having low levels of beta glucan and a high diastatic power, suitable for malt barley.	

At the end, the Member Secretary proposed a formal vote of thanks to the Chairman and members of the committee.

24.8.2020

Gyanendra P Singh Member Secretary

Sharma Sharma

Tilak Chairman